Resources

A Good Source of General Information is the Health Navigator website - a highly recommended website run by New Zealand health professionals, providing information on a wide range of health topics.

Here are some other useful links we have gathered for you. They have been sorted alphabetically for your convenience. Please click on the links below each subject for more information.

Allergy

Allergy NZ http://www.allergy.org
Coeliac Disease / Gluten Intolerance https://coeliac.org.nz

 

Asthma & Respiratory
Asthma & Respiratory Foundation NZ http://www.asthmanz.co.nz/

 

Cancer

NZ Cancer Society https://www.cancer.org.nz/
Skin Cancer https://www.sunsmart.org.nz/
Bowel Cancer https://bowelcancernz.org.nz/  
Breast Cancer  https://www.breastcancerfoundation.org.nz
Child Cancer https://childcancer.org.nz/
Cancer Information https://www.macmillan.org.uk/cancer-information-and-support

 

Children(Paediatrics)
How much Paracetamol should I give my child? https://www.healthnavigator.org.nz/tools/p/paracetamol-dose-calculator/
Health and wellbeing of Under-fives and their whanauhttps://www.plunket.org
Keeping Kids Healthy and Safe https://www.kidshealth.org.nz/
Helping Children with Anxiety https://copingcatparents.com
Bed wetting https://bedwet.net.nz/
Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) https://www.plunket.org.nz/caring-for-your-child/safe-sleep/sudi-sudden-infant-dealth/

 

Diabetes

Diabetes NZ https://www.diabetes.org.nz
MiniMed Insulin Pumpshttp//:www.minimed.com/

 

Family Planning / Infertility

Fertility Focushttps://www.myfertilityfocus.co.nz/
Fertility Associates  https://www.fertilityassociates.co.nz/

 

Heart (Cardiovascular) Health

Heart Foundation NZ https://www.heartfoundation.org.nz/
Heart Kids NZ https://heartkids.org.nz

 

Hepatitis

Hepatitis C https://www.hepatitiscentral.com/
Hepatitis B https://www.healthnavigator.org.nz/health-a-z/h/hepatitis-b/
The Hepatitis Foundation of NZhttps://www.hepatitisfoundation.org.nz

 

Immunisation
Immunisation Advisory Centre     https://www.immune.org.nz/
Ministry of Health – Information on Covid-19.   https://www.health.govt.nz/our-work/diseases-and-conditions/covid-19-novel-coronavirus
Immunistion Advisory Centre (IMAC) https://covid.immune.org.nz

 

Mental Health / Addictions

NZ Mental health Foundation https://mentalhealth.org.nz/
Depression    https://www.depression.org.nz/
Anxiety    https://www.anxietycanada.com/
Depression & Anxiety (Young persons)    https://www.thelowdown.co.nz/
Mental Fitness (geared towards Sports Players)   https://www.headfirst.co.nz
Problem Gambling Foundation    https://www.pgf.nz
Is Your Drinking OK?    https://www.alcohol.org.nz/help-advice/is-your-drinking-ok


Old Age

Age Concern https://www.ageconcern.org.nz
Parkinsons New Zealand      https://www.parkinsons.org.nz
Dementia / Alzheimers https://alzheimers.org.nz/Macular Degeneration https://www.mdnz.org.nz/
Eldernet https://www.eldernet.co.nz/

 

Other
ADHD    https://www.adhd.org.nz/
Chronic Fatigue Syndrome https://anzmes.org.nz/
Specific Learning Disabilities (Dyslexia, etc.) https://ldanz.org.nz/
Learning Disabilities online    http://www.ldonline.org/
Brain Injury & PTSD  https://www.brainline.org/
Brain Injury information (Auckland-based)   https://www.headway.org.nz

Pain

NZ Pain Society https://www.nzps.org.nz/painresource/
Pain Management  https://proactive4health.co.nz/pain-management/
Chronic Pain Assoc. of Canada https://chronicpaincanada.com/

 

Palliative (End of Life) Care
Waipuna Hospicehttps://www.waipunahospice.org.nz/

 

Parenting Information & Support
The first thousand days of life   https://brainwave.org.nz/
Growing great families     https://www.kiwifamilies.co.nz/
Parenting ideas & strategieshttps://parentingplace.nz/
Parents Centre NZ https://parentscentre.org.nz/

 

Rheumatology
Arthritis Foundation of NZ https://www.arthritis.org.nz/

 

Sexual Health
NZ Sexual Health Society https://www.nzshs.org/
Mens Health https://menshealthclinic.co.nz

 

Skin Health (Dermatology)
NZ DermNet https://dermnetnz.org/

 

Sports Medicine
Sports Medicine NZ (SMNZ) https://sportsmedicine.co.nz
Sports Medicine Australia   https://sma.org.au/

 

Travel Medicine

Fit For Travel>http://www.fitfortravel.scot.nhs.uk/
Travel Essentials  https://worldwise.co.nz/
NZ Govt advice on Safe Travel https://www.safetravel.govt.nz/

 

Women's Health

Imaginis https://www.imaginis.com
Cervical & Breast Screening https://www.timetoscreen.nz/
Miscarriage Support  https://www.miscarriagesupport.org.nz/
Continence Issues      https://www.continence.org.nz/
Womens Refuge.    https://www.womensrefuge.org.nz

 

PATHLAB - Information on laboratory locations and lab tests https://www.pathlab.co.nz
MINISTRY OF HEALTH – find out about the NZ health system https://www.health.govt.nz/
COMMUNITY SERVICES CARD – having this card can help you and your family with health costs in NZ.  Check out your eligibility on - https://www.workandincome.govt.nz/products/a-z-benefits/community-services-card.html#null